Futura 1
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How To Install a Sub in a G35 Using Stock Bose System

  1. #1
    Bronze Member w8lifter21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    53

    Default How To Install a Sub in a G35 Using Stock Bose System

    Figured I would post up a little "How to" seeing as how the beginning of the installation, going through the firewall, is the hardest part for some when it comes to doing an amp install.
    This isn't a super detailed write up, I'm going to assume you are somewhat handy with basic tools and aren't afraid to get your hands dirty.
    Ok here we go
    Tools I used:
    Plastic pannel tool
    Screwdriver
    Knife
    wire strippers
    solder and soldering iron
    Electrical tape
    Parts needed:
    Amp kit w/ RCAs
    Line out converter (LOC)
    Break open you shiney new amp kit. I just went with the power kit because I already had RCAs:

    Take the battery cover off

    All the covers come off by popping the middle of these up then pulling them out


    Then take the cabin filter cover off

    This gromet with the mass of wires going in it, that's where you are going to feed your power wire and any other wires you may need to run in the future. You can already see the hood pin/tach/siren wires coming out for my remote start/alarm.

    Make an "X" in the rubber gromet with your knife, and feed the power wire in about 2ft.

    Open the front passenger door and remove the lower trim that runs along the door sill and then the kick panel



  2. #2
    Bronze Member w8lifter21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Stick your head in the foor well and look up towards the gromet. There is your power wire.

    Once all your wire has been pulled, slide the passenger seat all the way forward and tilted.

    Open rear passenger door and pull up the lower trim along the door sill

    At the bottom of this panel are two clips, one per side. Pull each side straight back towards the other side of the car and the bottom should pop loose.


    Go back up front and start tucking the wire all the way to the back seat. Carpet is attached to the door sill by plactic loops that go over white clips which is what holds the plastic trim to the car.

    Once you get the wire to the back, take a look at where the bottom of the rear seat meets the carpet. You will see black plastic hoops. To get the rear seat up, pull the loop towards the front of the car and pull up on the seat. Don't try pulling the hoop up with the seat as it's attached to the car.

    With both sides loose, pull the seat towards the front of the car to give you some space to feed the wire up with your hand. The seat doesn't have to come all the way off, you just need some space for your hand. The back of the back seat(the part that reclines, I had no idea my seats did that and was so amazed :)) has insulation behind it. Make sure when you feed the wire, to pull the insulation up as you pull on the upper back part of the back seat as you feed the wire up towards the trunk. If not, the wire will be between the seat and insulation and you will not be be able to see the wire or pull it.


    Now that the wire has been fed up towards the trunk, crawl in the trunk and pull back the bottom carpet, and then pull up on the back panel.

  3. #3
    Bronze Member w8lifter21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Once that's done, you should be able to see the wire

    Now your power wire is in the trunk

    Now to install the line out converter (LOC). You have to pull down the top plastic trunk panel in order to expose the factory sub and amp. Pop out the little black buttons the same way you did the ones under the hood. There are about 6 total. Once they are all out, the panel should flop down like a door because it is attached at the back.

    After you drop the panel, you will be able to see the sub

    .....and the amp

    Unplug the brown plug attached to the sub, pull the black sheath covering the wires, you should see a black wire and a white wire

    Grab your line out converter

    Now twist the (+) together(no stripe), and then the (-) together (w/black stripe). On this particulat LOC, you don't need to use the two brown wires.

    Take the LOC, connect the (+) to the white wire, and the (-) to the black wire. Once you have made your connections, do not plug it back into the sub.

    Move over to the amp now and unplug the two plugs on the left side of the amp. You will only need to get to the black plug but it's alot easier to work if both are unplugged

  4. #4
    Bronze Member w8lifter21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Pull the black sheath back and look for the green wire with the white stripe. That's the amp turn on wire. Take the blue wire that came with the amp kit and connect it to that wire. This is what is going to be turning your aftermarket amp on. Now plug everything back into the amp.

    Run your RCAs and amp turn on wire back and down to the bottom of the trunk.

    Now for your ground. Pull back the back panel like you did for the power wire, scrape/grind off paint until you get to bare metal, and sink two screws into the connector. Why two? If you attach such a large wire to thin metal, it is easy for it to start to rotate as the car bounces around down the road. That can shake the ground loose and cause your system to cut in and out. by sinking two screws into the terminal, you can help reduce that your ground will come loose. It's best to look for an existing bolt to use, but I didn't find one in the area where I would be mounting my amp.


    At this point, I leave you to mount the amp, and make your connections to what ever sub/amp combo you have chosen, as the hardest part is over with. I'm running a 10" Type R with a 500w Alpine amp and it sounds pretty good! There is a serious need to have sub volume control, so for now I just have all the settings on the amp turned down. Will I be replacing my HU, yes and very soon. I was just bored on thanksgiving morning and needed something to do :)

  5. #5
    Member jdmchuweey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Posts
    8

    Default

    great write-up!!

  6. #6
    Bronze Member w8lifter21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Thank you sir! Stay tuned for when I keep the stock nav voice! :)

  7. #7
    Bronze Member jspecfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Washington D.C/NorthernVA
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Awsome write up. Did it to the station wagon on stock HU
    Last edited by jspecfuzion; 05-13-2009 at 01:42 AM.


    96 Mercedes W140 l The Govorners Club

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •